Friday, January 28, 2011

Stamps of Malaya

Malaysia, before its independence, was known as Malaya and comprised of a number of independent states. These states issued their own stamps. The stamps bore the words “Malaya” at the centre top and the name of the state at the bottom centre. The stamps on the first page of my album on Malaysia are of this particular period.

When Malaya got independence on 31st August 1957 from the British, it started issuing its own stamps. The stamps were titled “Federation of Malaya.” The two stamps in the right column are of this period. The practice continued till 9 August 1963, when states of Sabah and Sarawak became part of Malaya. From then on the official name of Malaya changed to Malaysia. In the process, Singapore was detached from Malaya and became an independent state itself.

The first definitive stamps of Malaysia were issued in 1963. In 1982, Malaysia created its first miniature sheet to commemorate its 25th anniversary as an independent country. The first stamp about sports was issued in 1965 on the eve of the Southeast Asian Peninsular Games.

In my next post I will share more stamps and will also tell my viewers how I got these.

1 comment: