Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Old stamps of Singapore

Singapore, the smallest country of the Southeast Asia, is located south of Malaysia, some 137 km north of equator. The country has seen many handshakes with intruders since 14th century and had been an important seaport since.

The port was destroyed by the Portuguese in the early 17th century, 1613 to be exact. The British came to this part of the world in the early 19th century and established a trading post on the island. During the WW-II it was briefly occupied by the Japanese, but reverted to British control after the war. It was merged with the Federation of Malaya in 1963. It finally became an independent state on 9th August 1965.

From period 1949-52, head of King George VI appeared on stamps of Singapore. Thereafter these were replaced by the heads of Queen Elizabeth II after her coronation.

During its union with the Malayan Federation, the postage stamps issued with inscription Singapore Malaya as can be seen from my collection above (left column) with the head of Queen Elizabeth II. The three stamps on the right are of the independent republic of Singapore, issued after 1965.

Related Link: My Philatelic World


Post a Comment