Monday, May 23, 2011

Postal history and old stamps of South Africa

The Republic of South Africa, previously The Union of South Africa, is a country located at the southern tip of Africa, with a coastline on the Atlantic and Indian Oceans. To the north lie Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe; to the east are Mozambique and Swaziland; while Lesotho is an independent country wholly surrounded by South African territory.

The first stamp of the Union of South Africa was a 2 1/2d stamp issued on 4 November 1910. However my collection starts with the stamps of South Africa (top left column) was issued in 1926 with SUIDAFRIKA written on top of it.


Post a Comment